Bullitt County


Bullitt County is located south of Louisville, KY. Bullitt County officially came into existence on January 1, 1797 and was named for Kentucky’s First Lt. Governor Alexander Scott Bullitt. Bullitt County’s 300 square miles straddle the outer Bluegrass and the Knobs regions of Kentucky. In the late 1700’s to the mid 1800’s, Bullitt County thrived as a location for salt and iron businesses.

The county seat of Bullitt County is Shepherdsville; this is the location of the Bullitt County Clerk’s Office. There are ten cities/towns in Bullitt County. These include Brooks, Clermont, Fox Chase, Hebron Estates, Hillview, Hunters Hollow, Lebanon Junction, Mount Washington, Pioneer Village and Shepherdsville. As of 2010, the population of Bullitt County was 74,319. Bullitt County continues to grow, while still maintaining its down-to-earth quality.

The Bullitt County Clerk’s Office formed the same time as the county in 1797. Thomas Speed was the first Bullitt County Clerk. Since that time, there have been 20 Bullitt County Clerks. Our current clerk is Kevin Mooney.

The Bullitt County Clerk’s Office provides a variety of services from real estate recordings, marriage licenses, voter registration and elections to motor vehicles.

Our mission is to provide the citizens of Bullitt County with a superior level of customer service not normally expected from government, while still complying with Kentucky laws and regulations.