Self-Storage Title Transfer
Vehicles that have been abandoned at a leased space at a storage facility may be allowed for a title transfer if certain requirements have been met.
The following documents/requirements and information is required: (All forms highlighted in blue are downloadable simply by clicking on them and other highlighted words will direct you to that specified section.)
- The occupant must be in default for a period of more than forty-five days, the owner of the facility may enforce a lien by selling the motor vehicle property stored in the leased space at a public or private sale for cash. Proceeds shall then be applied to satisfy the lien.
- Before conduction of the sale the owner of the facility shall:
- Notify the occupant of the default by regular mail at the occupant’s last known address
- Send a second notice of default by certified mail to the occupant at the occupant’s last known address
- Notify all known lienholder(s) by certified mail
- Notices must include
- A statement of the vehicles, with year, make, model and Vehicle Identification Number listed that are located in the occupant’s leased space and that the vehicles are subject to an operator’s lien.
- A statement of the facility owner’s claim, indicating the charges due on the date of the notice, the amount of any additional charges which shall become due before the date of sale and the date those additional charges shall become due.
- A demand for payment of the charges due within a specified time, not less than fourteen days after the date of notice.
- A statement that unless the claim is paid within the time stated, the vehicles in the occupant’s leased space shall be sold at a specific time and place
- The name, address and telephone number of the facility owner or his/her designated agent whom the occupant may contact to respond to the notices
- At least three days before the sale, owner of the facility must advertise the time, place and terms of the sale in a newspaper of general circulation in the jurisdiction where the sale is to be held
- At any time before the sale, the occupant may pay the amount necessary to satisfy the lien and redeem the occupant’s property
- The sale shall be held at the self-service storage facility where the personal property is stored
- Two certified letters or return receipts if the letters were signed for
- Receipt from newspaper stating the date the advertisement was published
- Affidavit of Kentucky Self-Service Storage Act Form # TC96-179 completed by the owner of the Storage Facility
- Application for Title/Registration (VTR Vehicle Transaction Record-Form # TC96-182) must be completed.
- Any prior liens must be released before a title can be issued
- All property taxes that are delinquent must be paid in full
- Certified Sheriff’s inspection of vehicle verifying Vehicle Identification Number and mileage if the vehicle is from another state. (Sheriff’s inspection section is on the Application for Title/Registration (VTR Vehicle Transaction Record-Form # TC96-182). See Sheriff Inspection for further information.
- Buyer must have Commonwealth of Kentucky proof of insurance to complete transfer. All insurance cards must have the insurance company’s five-digit NAIC number listed on the card. The effective date on the insurance card cannot be more than 45 days prior to the date of completing the transaction in our office. The effective date on the insurance card cannot be more than 45 days prior to the date of completing the transaction in our office. Insurance is not required for Title Only Transfers. See Title Only Transfers for more information.
- Speed Titles are not allowed
- Bullitt County Clerk’s Office accepts Cash, Personal Check, Money Order or Certified Check. The office does accept Visa, MasterCard and Debit. However, to process using a Credit/Debit Card, an additional processing fee is charged. Contact county clerk’s office for details. Credit/Debit Cards cannot be used over the phone.
Title Fee: $9.00
Registration Fee: Contact clerk’s office